1958 Syerston VX770 Avro Vulcan crash

Discussions on XM655, XH558, XM607, XL426 or any other preserved aircraft

1958 Syerston VX770 Avro Vulcan crash

Postby Jason_osmer » Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:49 pm

Regarding: 1958 Syerston VX770 Avro Vulcan crash
Hello
I’m currently studying engineering with the Open University with the aim of joining the RAF as an engineering officer. For my final dissertation/project I am doing an investigation into the structural failure of VX770 Avro Vulcan at RAF Syerston.
I contacted the national archive to try and get a copy of the official incident report and received the following reply;
“Unfortunately, we are unable to provide at present because the documents you requested are in use........ You may wish to submit a new request in the future; we would recommend waiting at least 1 month for the document to be returned.”
Having read some of the comments on this forum it seems that getting a copy of the report may not be as simple as that.
Has anyone made any progress with their investigations?
I have just joined the forum and I’m unfamiliar with its workings could someone please tell me how to private message/ get in contact with: Sooty655
Thanks
Jason_osmer
Jason_osmer
Piper J-3 Cub
Piper J-3 Cub

Re: 1958 Syerston VX770 Avro Vulcan crash

Postby Sploosher » Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:28 pm

welcome to the site Jason, hope you enjoy it................. :D

this site is definitely one of the finest out there on the web.......... \:D/

as for contacting Sooty 655, click on this link.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2135

it will take you to a new thread, and at the top is a post by sooty, underneath his avatar ont he right side, you will find an envelope that has PM on it, click on that and you can contact him, but I think you may have to wait until you have a few entries under your belt first before you can use pm`s.

If so, I am sure he will pm you , being the nice guy that he is........... ;)
Sploosher
BAE Hawk
BAE Hawk

Also Known As: jangor