Who has IE9?

Having problems with the forums? Have a question? Have a suggestion? Post here

Who has IE9?

Postby Wedgy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:12 pm

Any problems with IA? Specifically images?

*edit* It would appear IE9 does not support the way IA handles images. Typical Microsoft - every other browser under the sun DOES support it.

There is no fix currently ... if you wish to view images on IA, I suggest you stay well clear of IE9.

Im sure the list of incompatibilities will only grow :(
"Afterall, I am a kind Admin, a caring Admin, I listen to the people"

Help promote us! Look HERE
Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Also Known As: Wedginald

Re: Who has IE9?

Postby RLN » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:13 pm

Sorry, only use Firefox.
RLN

Postby Wedgy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:12 pm

I've tried my own fix - but it failed.

Stay away from IE9 people :(

Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Mayfly » Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:19 pm

Does this only effect the way you have set IA to handle images Wedgy or would it affect all phpBB boards?
In memory of a very dear friend - Mike Pearson

Very fond memories of Robbie Gilvary - DTs 1st Vulcan Captain who taught DT all he knew.
Mayfly

Postby Wedgy » Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:04 am

It doesn't really affect basic phpBB forums (hence why TVOC forums are unaffected), although there are some annoying 'quirks' being reported.
IA has a modification which resizes images automatically (and shows them in a 'lightbox') and this is what is causing the problem. The modification is used by thousands of forums and I have been in contact with the author of the modification ... a fix will be in the pipeline I think - just a matter of when, could be months.

Thanks to Hungry Hagis for bringing it to my attention (http://www.iconicaircraft.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=4406) just unfortunate I cannot fix it this end (I still hold out hope there maybe a IE9 'option' somewhere that resolves the issue within IE9 itself).