Just a quick question

Having problems with the forums? Have a question? Have a suggestion? Post here

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Wedgy » Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:42 pm

Aceyone wrote:Had it happen to me a few times recently !


I take that to read more than once (separate occasions?)
"Afterall, I am a kind Admin, a caring Admin, I listen to the people"
Image

Help promote us! Look HERE
User avatar
Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7039
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Wiltshire
Also Known As: Wedginald

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Sooty655 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:41 pm

It has just happened to me again. I don't normally log out, but I ran ccCleaner earlier today and deleted cookies, so I had to log in.

After the first attempt it immediately said I had run out of attempts and had to complete the Capcha thingy.

That let me straight back in with no further problem. :-?
Sooty

One Olympus 301 has twice the power of a complete F1 starting grid.
XM655 has four of them, all serviceable.
When we make noise, WE MAKE NOIZE ! !
User avatar
Sooty655
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 8840
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:17 pm
Location: Weedon, Northants

Failed number of login attempts

Postby Tom.com » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:43 pm

Right, my computer has been on for a while with this site open but I wasn't using it.

I just came onto it and clicked refresh so that it was up to date and it said I wasn't logged in. It remembers my user name and password automatically so I just clicked login without doing anything.

It told me I had had to many failed logins and I then had to put the little picture code thing in.

The thing is, that was my first attempt.....
No, I am a fairy
↑ÔΜ•€Øm

Image
User avatar
Tom.com
Lockheed Constellation
Lockheed Constellation
 
Posts: 4664
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sawbridgeworth
Also Known As: tomdotcom247

Re: Failed number of login attempts

Postby Olicat » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:53 pm

oops, i thought you made a new topic.
Last edited by Olicat on Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Fly fast jets and/or C130s over my house please, I'm bored!

BUCCANEER TO THE SKY!
User avatar
Olicat
Lockheed Constellation
Lockheed Constellation
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:59 pm
Location: That way! ↓
Also Known As: Bullet

Re: Failed number of login attempts

Postby MrTim » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:07 pm

Same here. Twice it's happened now. Assumed someone else was trying my login.
User avatar
MrTim
Lockheed F-104 Starfighter
Lockheed F-104 Starfighter
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:51 am
Location: Sherburn-in-Elmet, Yorks
Also Known As: Eduard von Foodmixer

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Wedgy » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:50 pm

Im just about to purge the 'session table'. Basically this will force everyone with a log off.

If any of these issues continue after I have done this, then we know for sure that someone is attempting to get into our accounts (not much we can do about that but ensure our passwords are the best they can be ;) ).
"Afterall, I am a kind Admin, a caring Admin, I listen to the people"
Image

Help promote us! Look HERE
User avatar
Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7039
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Wiltshire
Also Known As: Wedginald

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Sooty655 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:02 pm

Had to log in as Wedgy predicted, but no hassle, just normal log in. :ymapplause:
Sooty

One Olympus 301 has twice the power of a complete F1 starting grid.
XM655 has four of them, all serviceable.
When we make noise, WE MAKE NOIZE ! !
User avatar
Sooty655
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 8840
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:17 pm
Location: Weedon, Northants

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Mayfly » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:16 pm

OOooo I haven't had too - yet!!! :p
In memory of a very dear friend - Mike Pearson

Very fond memories of Robbie Gilvary - DTs 1st Vulcan Captain who taught DT all he knew.
User avatar
Mayfly
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 29727
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Bomber County

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Xplumberlives » Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:50 pm

Mayfly wrote:OOooo I haven't had too - yet!!! :p




Special treatment for Royals! :p
"All modern aircraft have 4 dimensions: span, length, height and politics.
TSR-2 simply got the first 3 right. ”
— Sir Sydney Camm
User avatar
Xplumberlives
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
 
Posts: 41159
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Close to a former Harrier Airfield
Also Known As: ROCKETMAN

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Olicat » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:28 pm

Just happened to me i think...
Fly fast jets and/or C130s over my house please, I'm bored!

BUCCANEER TO THE SKY!
User avatar
Olicat
Lockheed Constellation
Lockheed Constellation
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:59 pm
Location: That way! ↓
Also Known As: Bullet

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Xplumberlives » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:29 pm

Is it still going on?
"All modern aircraft have 4 dimensions: span, length, height and politics.
TSR-2 simply got the first 3 right. ”
— Sir Sydney Camm
User avatar
Xplumberlives
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
 
Posts: 41159
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Close to a former Harrier Airfield
Also Known As: ROCKETMAN

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Olicat » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:31 pm

Well, it did the Captcha thing, i might've mis-typed my password though :))
Fly fast jets and/or C130s over my house please, I'm bored!

BUCCANEER TO THE SKY!
User avatar
Olicat
Lockheed Constellation
Lockheed Constellation
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:59 pm
Location: That way! ↓
Also Known As: Bullet

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Xplumberlives » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:32 pm

Olicat wrote:Well, it did the Captcha thing, i might've mis-typed my password though :))




More speed less haste matey! ;)
"All modern aircraft have 4 dimensions: span, length, height and politics.
TSR-2 simply got the first 3 right. ”
— Sir Sydney Camm
User avatar
Xplumberlives
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
 
Posts: 41159
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Close to a former Harrier Airfield
Also Known As: ROCKETMAN

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Mayfly » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:41 pm

Not sure but I think you should get 3 attempts before the captcha thing kicks in [when it's working correctly]
In memory of a very dear friend - Mike Pearson

Very fond memories of Robbie Gilvary - DTs 1st Vulcan Captain who taught DT all he knew.
User avatar
Mayfly
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 29727
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Bomber County

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Olicat » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:46 pm

I got 1 :(
Fly fast jets and/or C130s over my house please, I'm bored!

BUCCANEER TO THE SKY!
User avatar
Olicat
Lockheed Constellation
Lockheed Constellation
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:59 pm
Location: That way! ↓
Also Known As: Bullet

Re: Just a quick question

Postby RLN » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:59 pm

I never have any problems logging in. I use CCleaner everytime I shut the PC down, set to wipe passwords, and I've not had any problems.
User avatar
RLN
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 15709
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Sooty655 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:17 pm

Been away since Monday morning. Just logged in and after ONE attempt it hit me with the Captcha thingy. That let me in ok. :-?

Wedgy, does the system record log-in attempts. If so, my record should be clear from Monday 1000 to Wednesday 1800?
Sooty

One Olympus 301 has twice the power of a complete F1 starting grid.
XM655 has four of them, all serviceable.
When we make noise, WE MAKE NOIZE ! !
User avatar
Sooty655
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 8840
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:17 pm
Location: Weedon, Northants

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Hihonyr8811 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:35 pm

Just had to type those random words in again, and I definitely haven't tried to log in 3 times :((
Didn't log out either, was only on here an hour or so ago and havn't turn my PC off or anything so it's not me resetting anything.
User avatar
Hihonyr8811
Airbus A380
Airbus A380
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: Lincoln
Also Known As: Lincoln, Hiho, Helen

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Wedgy » Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:52 pm

Seems it must be someone trying to access accounts then (strange they haven't tried mine yet thought).

I cannot turn the captcha off as this would give the attackers unlimited tries on accounts, which will most likely result in them gaining access.
"Afterall, I am a kind Admin, a caring Admin, I listen to the people"
Image

Help promote us! Look HERE
User avatar
Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7039
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Wiltshire
Also Known As: Wedginald

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Xplumberlives » Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:53 pm

I wonder what their aim is?
"All modern aircraft have 4 dimensions: span, length, height and politics.
TSR-2 simply got the first 3 right. ”
— Sir Sydney Camm
User avatar
Xplumberlives
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
 
Posts: 41159
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Close to a former Harrier Airfield
Also Known As: ROCKETMAN

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Hihonyr8811 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:56 pm

Just so I'm clear I have no problem typing in thoes words :D defintely don't want you to turn them off ;) :D
Very glad we have great security here :ymapplause: \:D/

Can't think why anyone would want my accont :))
User avatar
Hihonyr8811
Airbus A380
Airbus A380
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: Lincoln
Also Known As: Lincoln, Hiho, Helen

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Wedgy » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:07 pm

Just looked ... 39 users have maxed out their login attempts .. mainly inactive users - obviously active users are clearning the attempts log by solving the captcha.
"Afterall, I am a kind Admin, a caring Admin, I listen to the people"
Image

Help promote us! Look HERE
User avatar
Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7039
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Wiltshire
Also Known As: Wedginald

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Mayfly » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:16 pm

and in English that means? :))

does it mean the 39 attempts are electronic? or 39 attempts have failed to gain access to users accounts?
In memory of a very dear friend - Mike Pearson

Very fond memories of Robbie Gilvary - DTs 1st Vulcan Captain who taught DT all he knew.
User avatar
Mayfly
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 29727
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Bomber County

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Xplumberlives » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:24 pm

Mayfly wrote:and in English that means? :))

does it mean the 39 attempts are electronic? or 39 attempts have failed to gain access to users accounts?




Miss M :D arple is on the case!
"All modern aircraft have 4 dimensions: span, length, height and politics.
TSR-2 simply got the first 3 right. ”
— Sir Sydney Camm
User avatar
Xplumberlives
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress
 
Posts: 41159
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Close to a former Harrier Airfield
Also Known As: ROCKETMAN

Re: Just a quick question

Postby Wedgy » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:53 pm

39 users have had 5 attempts to log into their accounts. When they next visit, they will have to solve the captcha ;)
"Afterall, I am a kind Admin, a caring Admin, I listen to the people"
Image

Help promote us! Look HERE
User avatar
Wedgy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7039
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Wiltshire
Also Known As: Wedginald

PreviousNext

Return to Forum Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests