Page 2 of 3

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:45 pm
by Nickolas
Xplumberlives wrote:Tomorrow I believe!


Best we enjoy ourselves while we can as 'Normal service' will be resumed by Sunday...................

Oh, I forgot about the millions of bloody holiday 'snaps'............ =)) =)) =)) =))
(I'm dead aren't I?)

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:54 pm
by Xplumberlives
Nickolas wrote:
Xplumberlives wrote:Tomorrow I believe!


Best we enjoy ourselves while we can as 'Normal service' will be resumed by Sunday...................

Oh, I forgot about the millions of bloody holiday 'snaps'............ =)) =)) =)) =))
(I'm dead aren't I?)




Not yet, it'll take her ages to read all that she's missed!

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 4:09 pm
by Dan4th
If Pam just skips all Your posts, Dave,
it should take well under an hour, don't
you think?

D.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 4:51 pm
by Xplumberlives
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:31 pm
by Dan4th
Sorry, Dave, something came over me
and I just couldn't resist!

Danf. :D

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:14 am
by Stigish
Back on topic for a moment...................I've just purchased the Thrustmaster Joystick on amazon for the bargain price of £20.33 and it was direct from amazon, not one of their 3rd pty sellers!

The odd thing was they also had it listed for £30???????????

I've had some really good feed back from people at work on this one and it comes pre-programmed for FSX, so no problems for me there then \:D/ .

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:43 am
by RLN
You want to get some of this lot.

http://www.saitek.com/uk/prod/proflight.htm

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:55 pm
by Yorkie
Iv'e just got one of these. it's awesome. have Given my son the other one, he's five and can land the 747 at heathrow without crashing every time. he does stunts with the extra 300 that I can't follow (we play over the network), i chase him and he's great.

Image

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:58 pm
by Nickolas
Xplumberlives wrote:
Nickolas wrote:
Xplumberlives wrote:Tomorrow I believe!


Best we enjoy ourselves while we can as 'Normal service' will be resumed by Sunday...................

Oh, I forgot about the millions of bloody holiday 'snaps'............ =)) =)) =)) =))
(I'm dead aren't I?)




Not yet, it'll take her ages to read all that she's missed!


I got a PM tonite......................................... :(( :(( :(( :((

Anyone know a food taster??

Been trawling the web for body armour too.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:01 am
by Mayfly
you need more than that Image

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:24 am
by Wedgy
Yorkie wrote:Iv'e just got one of these. it's awesome. have Given my son the other one, he's five and can land the 747 at heathrow without crashing every time. he does stunts with the extra 300 that I can't follow (we play over the network), i chase him and he's great.

Image


That looks nice :D

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:32 am
by Mayfly
Agreed Wedgy - what make & model is it Yorkie?

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:35 am
by Hungry Haggis

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:37 am
by Mayfly
Ooo thanks Jim - I thought it looked a bit 'Saitekish'

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:45 am
by Xplumberlives
Yorkie wrote:Iv'e just got one of these. it's awesome. have Given my son the other one, he's five and can land the 747 at heathrow without crashing every time. he does stunts with the extra 300 that I can't follow (we play over the network), i chase him and he's great.

Image



Is he available to give S.M. a few hints? :p

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:02 am
by Yorkie
Sorry been busy.... how dare work take over my life.

Mayfly. its the Saitek Cyborg X Stick

And I asked him how he lands and he alughed and said, like this daddy!!

on his pc he has the realism set as low, on mine i am brave (or stupid) and have it as medium and being able to crash.

he showed me on mine! but i put him in the Vulcan on FS9 and it fell out of the sky, he wasn't happy.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:59 pm
by RLN
If it makes him feel any better - we all do that except Mayfly who has expert tuition. :D

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:06 pm
by Yorkie
is there a nack to flying the vulcan? (not the real one) i can get it to take off, then it just falls or overspeeds

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:41 pm
by RLN
There is a nack. I've got the Just Flight Vulcan which isn't all that TBH. It seems to like an IAS of between 200 and 280 knots otherwise it does tend to pretend it's a brick.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:09 pm
by Gaz
This may have already been answered but I can't be bothered to look. Is there a decent download of a Vulcan? The one I have has 747 engine noise and no cockpit display.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:30 pm
by Tom.com
RLN wrote:There is a nack. I've got the Just Flight Vulcan which isn't all that TBH. It seems to like an IAS of between 200 and 280 knots otherwise it does tend to pretend it's a brick.


you have about 20 seconds after it goes overspeed before it drops out the sky, by reducing the throttle and putting the air brake up you can slow it quick enough. Practice makes perfect, I should know I have looped it and done stall turns but I took me a while to get it right.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:39 pm
by RLN
Thanks, Tom :-BD

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:44 pm
by Yorkie
Thanks Tom, will try that, I take it you can assign a joystick button to set the airbrake?

RNL, do you run the just flight vulcan in FSX? I have it and have only installed it on fs2004 (it's a lets say downloaded version :-o ) so haven't split it up to try on fsx.

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:05 pm
by Mayfly
Evidently the Iris Vulcan is good. Ask Bovri,l SM or Wedgy [but my first pick would be Bovril ...] :p

Re: Joysticks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:17 pm
by Tom.com
Yorkie wrote:Thanks Tom, will try that, I take it you can assign a joystick button to set the airbrake?

RNL, do you run the just flight vulcan in FSX? I have it and have only installed it on fs2004 (it's a lets say downloaded version :-o ) so haven't split it up to try on fsx.



yeah you can. normally it is the "/" key but you can change it to one of the joystick buttons as well in the settings